Department of State Development

The Science Excellence Awards have recognised the efforts and achievements of more than 60 winners since 2005, many of whom are world leaders in their respective fields.

Researchers of this calibre continue South Australia’s long tradition of achievement in science, which began with the father and son partnership of William and Lawrence Bragg, who jointly won the Nobel Prize in 1915 and Howard Florey who was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1945 for his pioneering work in the discovery of penicillin.

Science and research development are at the heart of lifting the opportunities, health and skills of South Australia’s workforce and the state’s social and economic prosperity. The awards showcase the critical importance of science and research to the development of industry and society as a whole.

The Science Excellence Awards are the most prestigious of their kind in the state and complement the national Prime Minister’s Prize’s for Science.

Previous winners

Major sponsors

Department for Education

Flinders University

University of Adelaide

University of South Australia

Support sponsor


Temple Bruer Wines