Department of State Development

Congratulations to the 2017 South Australian Science Excellence Awards winners.

South Australian Scientist of the Year

  • Professor James Paton, University of Adelaide

PhD Research Excellence

  • Dr Joel Fuller, University of South Australia

STEM Educator of the Year – School Teaching

  • Mr Thierry Herman, Le Fevre High School

STEM Educator of the Year – Tertiary Teaching

  • Dr Claudia Szabo, University of Adelaide

Excellence in Research Collaboration

  • Developing a world leading intelligent medical device in South Australia, University of Adelaide, Australian Centre for Visual Technologies and LBT Innovations Ltd

STEM Professional

  • Dr Duncan Taylor, Forensic Science SA

Tall Poppy

  • Dr Laura Weyrich, The University of Adelaide

Unsung Hero of SA - Science

  • Peri and Faith Coleman, Environmental Science Consultants

Unsung Hero of SA - Science Communication

  • Dr Ian Musgrave, The University of Adelaide

Major sponsors

Department for Education

Flinders University

University of Adelaide

University of South Australia

Support sponsor


Temple Bruer Wines